tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

De-funked

Thankfully I feel much better today � whatever was bugging up my system seems to have departed.

I think I must be over whatever funk I�ve been in for the past, oh, I dunno, 3 months. For those of you counting, that�s pretty much the exact amount of time since my mom died. She died on March 22 � I have the unused tickets to see the acclaimed Lyric Opera version on Carmen in my purse to prove it. I haven�t wanted to admit that I was depressed or in a funk because in my family that�s considered a weakness. Not that we�re all macho � I just think we repress emotions pretty well. Plus the umpteen pairs of shoes I�ve bought since then seem to have done their part through retail therapy. Nothing like a pair of juvenile �tattooed� low-tops to brighten the day a bit. Last night I came home and instead of stuffing myself with something that tasted good but was not so good for me, I had a lovely, modestly sized, caprese salad (with basil just picked form the garden) and a handful of animal cookies for dessert. Tonight I�m actually going back to the gym for a spin class. I took stock of my situation last night � I have a 30 mile bike �race� in less than a month and in the middle of August I�m going to Steve�s annual family get together in Effingham where I will have to don a bathing suit in front of all the lean runners in his family. I figured I have a choice � keep on eating the comfort food and plunking myself on the couch night after night or I could take control of my situation and do something positive. There�s no way that I�ll ever resemble my two tv girl-crushes (Lorelai Gilmore or Samantha Spade *) if I don�t quit eating great gobs of French bread slathered with creamy brie cheese just because it makes me happy for a minute or two. Better to be happy because I can finally fit into the expensive pair of fancy jeans that I bought during a �skinny� phase a couple of years ago. **

� * Do the creators of this show think it�s �cute� to name her Sam Spade? Do they think we�re too young or too dumb to make the connection to the hard-boiled pulp novel detective character made famous by Humphry Bogart in The Maltese Falcon?
� ** �Skinny� is a relative term. During the recent �skinny� phase there was still no way I�d ever fit into any pair of jeans from 7 for all Mankind or Miss Sixty or anything like that. I did find one pair of Buffalo jeans at Nordstrom Rack that fit for the most part (if I wore them with a certain pair of heels that were high enough so the jeans wouldn�t drag on the ground and remembered to wear a belt so that I didn�t expose my butt crack when I sat down).

The upcoming weekend will be a fine mix of the highbrow and the lowbrow. Friday Steve and I are going to a fancy Italian restaurant for dinner and a tasting of Italian sparking wines � la di dah. Saturday we�re going to a �garage sale� at our favorite outsider art gallery, and then Saturday night we�re hading to the dirt oval at the Route 66 Speedway to take in some team demolition derby action at the Tournament of Destruction. You just haven�t lived until you�re seen Road Rage take on Orange Crush. I highly recommend it for anyone, but especially for those who have kids � boys or girls. To make a nice day of it (since the Speedway is kind of a hike from Chicago) I also recommend going early and heading past the Speedway into Wilmington where they have some nice antique shops and a little hamburger/ice cream place called the Launching Pad that has one of the �Giant Beings� from the old Route 66, the Gemini Giant.

Thanks � this has been a report from Poppy, your Illinois tour Guide.

3:12 p.m. - 2006-06-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie