tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Feeling hot, hot, hot

I hate to sound like every other: newsperson, journalist, blogger, citizen of the Midwest, but JEEZUS is it hot. I am also getting tired of people�s eyes bugging out when I tell them I do not have air conditioning. As in none � no central air and not a window unit. They get even more crazy bugeyed when I tell them I have a window unit but we chose not to put it in (in reality the last time we used it was 2002 and it�s gotten so buried in our basement that Steve can�t even find it). I seriously think that when you don�t have AC you toughen up a little bit and your body becomes more efficient at dealing with the heat, and it really does cool down at night. That said, I also think that if my cats had opposable thumbs (and brains that can focus on something, ANYTHING, other than the junebug that was buzzing against the screen last night � Toby still wants it so badly he�s camped out beneath the window in case it comes back) they�d be down in the basement devising a plan to install the unit and sit directly in front, the cooling breeze ruffling the fur on their hot, hairy little bodies. * note � I hear the cooling trend is supposed to start tonight around 7pm � keep your fingers crossed.

I think my crazy anxiety spells are over. I�m keeping my L0razepam close at hand just in case though, because it pays to be prepared. I�m debating whether or not to call my doc and ask her for a recommendation for a head shrinker. Thoughts? I did manage to give myself one doozie of a stress pimple though � it looks (to me anyway � Steve is more of the, �what pimple?�school) like I�ve been hit with a small BB. It�s smack dab in the middle of my left cheek � a place where I swear in all my bepimpled years I have never gotten a zit before. It erupted last night (ok, ok � yes, I helped it) so I think it�s on its way out. Not that I�ve ever had bad skin - even during my teenage years I usually just have one or two blemishes that crop up during the Princess Time - but if someone had told me when I was sixteen that I would still be getting zits at 37 I think the allure of being a grown-up would have been severely tarnished. I have to say that over the years I have become a master make-up artist at covering pimples - so good I should consult on the set of teen movies � but the heat is killing my prowess. It�s hard to carefully layer on the cover-up and the powder to set it when there�s a good chance that it�s going to just slide off my face when I get outside.

Speaking of things from the world of beauty. Somehow in the last month I stopped biting my nails. If I knew how this happened I could make a zillion dollars, but honestly? No idea. They�re thin and a little deformed from years of gnawing but they seem to be doing ok and I even had to trim them the other day. One of Steve�s sisters is having some troubles at home and to cheer her up I�m taking her down to the Four Seasons on Sunday for manicures and spa pedicures � maybe the pros can give me some tips while they do my nails. If nothing else my dentist will be thrilled � he keeps telling me that I�m damaging the (very) expensive porcelain veneers on my top, front four teeth. Before you jump to conclusions, I�m not some vain Hillary Duff-type (ha, I wish�) who just wanted nice teeth. I had a horseback riding accident when I was about 13 and without the veneers on my front 2 teeth I�d have a very hillbilly look because they would be completely black. Class-say. I don�t need people asking me which trailer park I live in. If I really like you and you enjoy the gross side of things (and if I�ve had a few drinks) if you ask, I might just put a mirror into my mouth to show you the nasty dark backs of the teeth because that�s the kind of girl I am � I like to share.

4:28 p.m. - 2006-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie