tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Encounter with a monkey

The �Mai-Tai � No-Tie� BBQ on Friday was totally surreal. It was pouring rain so the event had to be moved indoors. We arrived about half an hour into the party and the first thing I saw was a man with a monkey. Apparently the rich whitey factor gets bored easily so they had hired some sort of animal extravaganza to appear who had toted along two monkeys and two huge pissed off parrots � I guess they don�t like steel drum music. There was a tiki bar with two guys hacking away at cocoanuts and filling them with rum based concoctions � I admit I had a couple because they were quite tasty. The whole event wasn�t horrible, but I think it was greatly diminished by being inside. On the bright side, any event where I get to hold hands with a monkey is all right by me. For the record, he was a complete gentleman and he had nice dry hands with a fantastic grip. I neglected to ask the man if his monkey is trained to pick oolong tea � he probably would have though I was some sort of crackpot.

On Sunday I saw The Illusionist with Tam, and although the movie was very �eh� (not like I didn�t see THAT surprise twist coming at the end), I found myself strangely attracted to Edward Norton. I�m not sure why, because of his liaison with Courtney Love he�s basically damaged goods � who knows what you could catch from him? I think it�s the broody eyes � tres, tres sexy. Or maybe it was the 1900�s era period costumes � I do love a man in a nicely fitting vest. However, I don�t know if he�s sexy enough to watch the other movie he was in recently � I think he played a cowboy who hooks up with Evan Rachel Wood (um� isn�t she like only 14 or something?) � but it was supposed to suck ass in a huge way. I do also have a thing for cowboys though, so I suppose I can plonk it on the Netflix list and give it the ol� college try when it becomes available.

Speaking of college � I heard from my niece. She arrived safely and seems to be holding up well. She hath proclaimed college to be �fun.� I�d like to go visit her in October and take her out for a decent meal, by then she should be in full loath mode for the craptastic meals from the food service � I know I was. She goes to the University of Dayton in (duh) Dayton, Ohio. I need to do some research and see if there�s a decent hotel and some non-chain places to eat and maybe (dare I hope for so much?) an art museum to visit.

That�s all for now � I�m heading to meet Steve at his sister�s house to watch a Cubs game on tv. I hope she has some reading material around because I�m pretty sure the Cubs suck � I�m only going for the pizza.

5:23 p.m. - 2006-08-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie