tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cinnasaviour

Well here it is, the end of August and what do I have to show for my summer? Zilch. Nada. I didn�t go anywhere interesting (I don�t count Effingham, IL as interesting) and I didn�t do anything interesting (I don�t count catching up on three years of �Without a Trace� on tivo to be very worthy). This was my summer of cocooning � my wasted summer. But, happily I�m back on track now. I�ve been hitting the gym regularly and I have plans to finally meet with a trainer at my new gym so that they can show me how to use their weight equipment and to sign up for a �Group Power� technique class so I can go to some of the many Group Power classes that they offer. I�ve even been thinking of taking another brutal early morning Boot Camp class when I�m in a little better shape.

Steve and I leave on vacation for the Little Sugar River Farm soon for a cat and dog-hair free week of biking on pretty trails, reading loads of books, eating healthy produce based meals accompanied by some nice wine, and making bonfires in the evenings. As a matter of fact this fall, and particularly this September, is looking pretty good all around. The weekend of the 15-17 a bunch of the Green Bay Mini-Con people are coming to Chicago and it will be fabulous to see all of them and to shop, eat and drink in my own fair city. Not all of the details are worked out yet because I�m no Weetabix when it comes to planning, but I�m sure it will all be ok in the end. Then, at the end of September Steve and are taking off for St. Louis. I scraped up a pair of tickets to see the Cardinals in their new stadium and there is a beautiful new contemporary art museum and one of our favorite dealers from the Intuit Show and Sale is based here so we�re hoping to do a little outsider/found art shopping. I booked us at a really grand restored old hotel through Hotels.com and got such a great rate I upgraded to a suite so we�ll be living large and since it�s already paid for (instant charge from Hotels.com) it�s basically guilt free.

So is it true that downing cinnamon extract capsules will lower your cholesterol levels? Due to the spiral of crappy eating my cholesterol levels are looking pretty crappy and a friend of mine told me to try the cinnamon thing. I�m going to go to health food store today and see if I can find some, because I have a recheck blood test coming up on the 22nd and I would really, really like it if the levels have gone down. I�m trying to eat better � really I am, but deep down inside I�m weak and I can hear the sweet siren song of the frites and the aria of the pizza calling out to me. It doesn�t help that I�m married to a man who could eat deep dish pizza piled high with cheese and greasy sausage every night of the week and still qualify for the super healthy premium on his life insurance � and I know this is the truth because he does eat pizza an awful lot and he did just qualify for the best rate on his insurance. Fie on him!

2:56 p.m. - 2006-08-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie