tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Go ahead, kick my ass.

Hey Prolifique - thanks for adding me on your Diaryland profile. How about sending my your username and password so I can check out your diary? My e-mail is [email protected]. Yeah, so much for that promise of keeping track of what I was eating by posting everyday. M�kay. It may not be a dead concept though - I suspect I am going to be mandated to start keeping a food diary/notebook because (duh duh duh DUH) I�m starting to see a personal trainer � tonight. I coughed up the cash for a 12-session package that will hopefully whip my (big-ish) butt into shape or at least get me started on a healthful path that I can continue on my own. I�m fine with the cardiovascular exercise but I�m still unclear on the new gym�s weight machines and I feel I could use a push from someone who is being paid to keep me on the straight and narrow and will also help me figure out a routine to maximize results. Basically my goal is to be able to wear a bathing suit for Steve�s family reunion in August without bursting into tears or whining non-stop about my bloopy tummy. Damn Steve and his family of skinny runners. If I could wear a burkha style suit then I�d be fine. I guess I could just buy a muu-muu suit, but I�d rather not. I�m not asking to be able to wear a J. Crew bikini, just a modest Land�s End tankini. Best of all would be if I could fit into one of the (numerous) suits that I already have but have, um, shall we say, outgrown? It�s a reasonable goal, and if I lose enough weight maybe I�ll even go to my 20th high school reunion this year. Or not. I whittled myself down to 100 lbs. for my 10th reunion by following a strict diet of SlimFast shakes, Kix cereal, and no-fat yogurt and then working out obsessively for at least 2 hours a day. I just don�t think I can pull it off again � especially since I don�t think Kix is still in production. I�m not really interested in seeing most of the people I went to high school with, and since I hung around with a decidedly non-reunion type crowd while I was there, the miniscule number of people I might enjoy catching up with are likely to be no-shows. I�m sure closer to the date I�ll start obsessively checking the reunion website to see who�s going, but I doubt I�ll add my name to the list.

This weekend I�m going to be a Lady of Leisure. Tomorrow (hooray for no work on Good Friday! Yay Catholics!) I�m heading downtown with a friend to get a facial at the Bliss Spa in the W hotel � whee, clean pores! Free wine and brownies! Post facial I may grab lunch with my facial friend (ooh � that sounds dirrrrrty) or I may not � it depends mostly on her schedule. Then I believe we are to part ways and I�ll head home so Steve and I can check out a couple of antique-y shops that we discovered on Monday when we took an evening stroll. We saw a pair of end-tables, a cool magazine rack, a nice dresser, and a foot sculpture, all of which are probably going to be out of our budget, but it never hurts to look. Then it�s off to dinner at Don Juan�s to celebrate Steve�s sister Lu�s birthday. Goal: not to pig out on the chips and salsa.

Saturday I have an appointment to get my hair colored and trimmed � that should take up most of the morning. I need to find a fancy schmancy deli while I�m downtown (maybe I�ll scoot over to Fox & Obel) to pick up the fixings for an antipasto plate because I�m going over to my dad�s house for an Italian potluck dinner.

Then Sunday. Hallelujah, hallelujah! Christ has risen! Let�s all eat way too much breakfast food to celebrate! Steve�s mom is hosting a brunch and my contribution is to bake my famous sour-cream, cinnamon streudel coffee-cake. My dad is coming along to brunch too. He claims to hate brunch, but I think he hates the idea of sitting alone at home on Easter even more, which I don�t quite understand because we are quite possibly the least religious family that I can think of. I guess it�s more that he�s used to doing something family-ish on Easter Sunday, so who am I to deny? I figure I�ll spend the rest of the day on the couch moaning about how I ate too much. And since I�m betting on being told to keep a food journal I�ll be able to report on Monday just how much is too much food.

3:48 p.m. - 2007-04-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie