tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Drafting myself into boot camp

Blah. I saw my trainer last night and she kicked my kiester! I went in early and did a half hour on the elliptical and then for the next hour she had me all over the gym working triceps, chest, shoulders, back, glutes, abs, triceps again, etc. I actually felt (lots of) sweat trickling down my back and I�m not a sweaty person. She�s teaching the next session of Boot Camp at my gym and I�m on the fence about taking it. I�d love to be able to get my workout over in the morning, but by the same token I hate getting up. I suppose I should just get off the stick and turn in my check. It�s only $130 for one hour, three mornings a week for six weeks. That�s a bargain and it would bring me all the way to the family reunion date and probably help me take off a few pounds and continue to tone up. That�s it. When I go to the gym tomorrow I�m taking in a check and signing up. So there.

Hey! Here�s a link for a recipe I think I�m going to try. There�s only so many chicken breasts I can eat and it would really behoove me to work some fish into the at-home diet. Plus � that picture? It makes it look too die for. And, tilapia seems safe because it�s fairly non-stinky and light and flakey too. Plus I can use the cilantro from my herb garden. While you�re there, check out the rest of the kitchen blog it came from � they have some good recipes and showcase some really, really enviable kitchens and gadgets and whatnot.

Breakfast: Bag of Kix
Lunch: Snack-pack cup of cottage cheese, Lean Cuisine Rosemary Chicken w/rice pilaf & spinach (***). Good flavor but the spinach made the rice pilaf a little watery. The chicken was flavorful and had a good texture. I need to stock up on frozen meals for next week � otherwise known as Week II in this little experiment/diet � and I�m looking forward to trying some of the recommended varieties. I wish I had a big freezer so I could really stock up, but I think I can only jam a week�s worth into the already crowded. freezer.
Dinner: I�ll have to come back and update this as I can go into a restaurant with the best of intentions and get derailed by one too many cocktails � they have a nasty habit of making me crave deep fried appetizers. I fully plan on having the salmon as my entr�e unless they have a fish special that is prepared in a similar low-fat way. We�ll see. Since there are three of us I�m hoping I can convince my friends to share one communal dessert and then only have a bite or two. I promise to come back and edit to dutifully log in what I ate. *** UPDATE *** I actually did OK at dinner. For appetizers I had: edamame (thank god they serve this instead of bread) one small lobster dim-sum dumpling, 1/4 of the crispy crab/artichoke salad, and two sections of ahi tuna roll. For dinner I had the chilli steamed snapper. I ate about 3/4 of the snapper going very easy onthe chilli sauce that it came in and about 3/4 of the egg-rolly side dish it came with. I was totally restrained at dessert and had 2 1/2 bites of the pineappe upsidedown cake - rough considering it is absolutely amazing. I did have three cocktails: one asian lemon drop and two Roy's Aloha Crushes. I stuck to vodka and I think that's helping in the no-hangover department. There you have it - I think I did OK last night. Now this evening I have a party at my brother's and I have to stay calm amidst the catered Italian goodies. I'll let you know how that goes later.
Exercise yesterday: see above for account of ass-kicking by trainer.

By the way, I weighed myself yesterday. I know that when I started this on Monday I weighed 175 lbs. There - I wrote it for all to see. On Friday at 4pm I weighed 171 lbs. so I'm 4# on my way to slenderness. Ideally I'd like to weigh 140 lbs which I think is a reasonable goal and it should put me back into my favorite pair of Gap Boy-Fit jeans that I can never bear to throw out when I get too big for them. Now I know what I weigh so I can start to track this diet experiment and see how well it works.

1 comments so far

3:46 p.m. - 2007-06-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie