tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cooking frenzy

I made the garlic-cilantro-ginger tilapia last night and it was absolutely cracktastic. I could eat it three times a week it was so good. Any who knew that tilapia is so cheap? Not me, that�s who. 1/3 # filets were only $2.00 each � what a bargain! Now that I know that baking fish is so easy and healthy I�m going to have to search out more recipes. My brown rice was not so hot though. In fact, it was disgusting and inedible � like tiny splinters of wood. Steve took one forkful and spat it out and then had to do the Tom Hanks/Big caviar move where he brushed off his tongue to remove the remaining grains. I tried to make it in my rice steamer and used chicken broth instead of water. Did I do something wrong? I am so shitty with the rice steamer � I know people who can make whole one-pot meals in their steamer and I can�t even make a simple batch of brown rice. A pox on �fuzzy logic�.

Because something good has happened (losing 5 lbs.) something bad must also happen. My monthly roving hormone pimple is here. This month it decided to appear on the left side of my chin. I�ll have to put some zit-zapper on it tonight to make it recede.

I enjoy reading Simka (her diary link is in my Diaryland profile, however it�s password protected. If you ask nicely she may give you the password) � she often writes about the mouthwateringly good meals that she cooks and their yummy wine pairings. Recently she made a meal and was nice enough to post the recipe and then even nicer to agree to let me share it. So now it is with great pleasure that I bring to you: Simka�s Greek Salad & Burger combo.
Salad:
2 cups very thinly sliced fennel (about one large bulb)
� cup fat-free sour cream
� cup plain fat free greek yogurt (Fage makes a good one)
� cup minced red onion
3 tablespoons minced fresh mint
1 tablespoon grated lemon rind + good squeeze of the juice
1 tablespoon honey
1 garlic clove, minced
Garlic salt & ground black pepper to taste
Mix all together. Season as you like with a bit more lemon juice, salt, whatever. Put in the fridge until needed.
Burgers:
� cup (2 oz.) crumbled feta cheese with basil and garlic (President makes a decent low fat one)
� cup chopped pimento stuffed olives
3 tablespoons of mixed up herbs like Greek oregano, rosemary, chives, thyme, marjoram, garlic salt.
� teaspoon salt
1 pound lean ground lamb
1 pound ground turkey breast
4 (6-inch) pitas cut in half
Start BBQ
Combine burger ingredients in a large bowl and squish gently. Divide the mixture into 8 equal � inch thick patties. Grill for 4 minutes per side or until 140 degrees internally. Remove and let rest for 5 minutes. Toast pita halves. Cut the patties in half and put 2 patty halves and � cup salad in each pita half.
Eat. Close eyes in happiness.
One serving is about 325 calories (30% from fat)

I can�t wait to fire up the grill and try this � I think I�ll have the time on Friday, especially if I make the salad a day in advance and store it in the fridge. Simka claims that if he hadn�t already proposed, this meal just might have brought her now-fiance down to one knee with ring-box in hand. Since I�m already married I�ll settle for �so-good it makes me want to mow the lawn� from Steve.

Breakfast: Yogurt, Kix
Lunch: Lean Cuisine sesame chicken (* �). The chicken was really good, but the pasta side was pretty tasteless and had a sort of sickly sweet glaze on it. I don�t think this will return for future meals. Baggie of cherries.
Snack: cottage cheese
Dinner: Slice of roast pork on a whole wheat bun w/ grainy mustard.
Exercise today: zippo � it�s animal shelter night.

6 comments so far

2:29 p.m. - 2007-06-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie