tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Green apple quick step

This weekend was pretty much a bust. I got some sort of intestinal bug and there was no way I was going to go to a music festival where my only option was a port-a-potty*. No way, no how. I don�t like the things in the best of circumstances but there�s no way I�d go in one when I�m having �issues.� And wait in line? I don�t think so � the issues wait for no-one. I was feeling better by Sunday afternoon which was good because I had to bake something for an animal shelter event. I made Gingered Lemon Squares from the Simply Recipes blog � I figured they were safe from temptation because I hate lemon squares. The custardy top always smells eggy to me. I dropped them off at the event, an art opening, but didn�t stay � I begged off saying that I was going to watch Steve play soccer but really I had to get to the gym and get in a good workout. Including today, there�s 26 days until B-Day � that would be bathing suit day at the family reunion thingy. I doubt I�m going to get down to 150 lbs. by that date, but you never know. I�ll do the best I can and if I�m not there yet I�ll keep pushing to get into the elusive pair of old Gap jeans that I love and zip up the super cool pair of knee high boots that I own but have never worn.

*As an aside, why do port-a-potty companies use some of the worst puns in their names? I once saw a truck carrying Lepre-cans complete with the icon of a little green man sitting on a pot. Charming.

On a weigh-in note, I�m going to start exclusively weighing myself on the scale I have at home � it matches more closely to the scale at the doctor�s office. I know that the scale here at work is calibrated every three months, blah, blah, blah, but it told me I had put on 4 lbs. from what I weighed at the doc�s office, and since she�s the one with the disapproving look over the clipboard I�ll go by her scale as the golden rule. According to the home scale I weighed 160 lbs. on Sunday. Yay � but possibly intestinal parasite related. I wish I had taken some measurements before I started this because I think the shrinkage would be encouraging.

Breakfast: yogurt, Kix
Lunch: WW Smart Ones chicken enchiladas Monterey. Eh, it was OK. I do have to say that I think the WW meals are better than the Lean Cuisine because they have about 50-80 calories more per meal. WW meals tend to be ~300 calories/meal whereas the LC meals are more like 240-280. It�s apparent that much can be done with an extra 50 calories � for instance the Spanish rice that was with my enchiladas was way, way better than any LC rice I�ve had to date.
Dinner: I�m not quite sure. Unless I want to cobble together some really unappealing combination from the meager and mismatched supply of canned goods and wilty vegetables I have around the house, it means a trip to the grocery store. I thought Steve and I could hit the new Whole Foods that has a grill/restaurant area in the store (you can even buy a glass of beer!) where I think I�ll have a pulled pork sandwich on a bun with a veggie side. Dinner and then shopping � how convenient! Plus �I�ll be full so I�ll be unlikely to make dumb hunger-driven impulse purchases.
Exercise: Boot Camp: running, jump rope, interminable ab crunches, pushups, etc. Intro to pilates class after work.

0 comments so far

1:54 p.m. - 2007-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie