tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Very Bad Idea

Note to self: if you have been on a restricted calorie and fat-gram diet for 8 weeks do not decide to up and go on a food and alcohol bender because the results will be disastrous.

Really, I had all the best intentions heading into dinner last night. I was only going to have one glass of wine, I was going to order the fish, blah, blah, blah. Here�s what happened in order of occurrence. Steve and I arrived on time at the restaurant, but our hosts are notoriously late. I decided it wouldn�t hurt me to order my favorite cocktail, a kir. While we were waiting the maitre�d/sommelier told us we probably wouldn�t be needing the wine list because Tuesday is their no corkage fee night and our hosts would probably be bringing wine (they�re regulars at this restaurant � persona grata if you will). Uh oh. Our hosts are major league wine collectors � there are no bad wines at their house. I was still resolute that I would sparingly partake of the wine. Until they showed up and pulled out a bottle of 1985 Chateau Mouton-Rothschild Bordeaux and a bottle of Mollydooker Carnival of Love shiraz. Then, I knew I was a goner. The food started out with an amuse bouche of a small brioche piped full of some sort of warm gooey cheese. Yum. I ordered a lyonnaise salad with a pat of goat cheese instead of the traditional poached egg � super-excellent! I had a small roll with some luscious creamy sweet butter. For dinner I ordered the saut�ed red snapper. It came in a vertical presentation that was constructed in the following manner: a base of layered potato slices, followed by a layer of melted goat cheese, followed by the two halves of the snapper filet and topped with herb sprigs. There were a few thin asparagus slices scattered artfully around the tower of food and some sort of butter based sauce as well. Of course I couldn�t say no to my spoonful of potato/butter/cream goo so that was there too. I also discreetly (or not � I�d had a few glasses of wine by this time and I usually THINK I�m being discreet, but really? Not so much.) grabbed a few of Steve�s vegetables � a quarter of a roasted beet, half of his stuffed cherry tomato, and his zucchini sliver. For dessert Steve and I shared the trio of chocolate bites: mousse, pot de cr�me, and a caramel pecan tart. Luckily each was only one big bite or two small ones. Not surprisingly, I began to feel a wee bit ill on the ride home and I did indeed barf shortly after arrival. The joy continues today as I have a headache and what I didn�t barf up last night is haunting me in other, equally unpleasant ways. Whee. Do I even need to mention that I skipped Boot Camp this morning?

Breakfast: yogurt � can�t face the Kix.
Lunch: We�ll see how much of the Lean Cuisine rosemary chicken and rice I can choke down.
Snack: cottage cheese.
Dinner: I have a gross food confession to make. I love Carl Buddig processed packaged lunch meats. I haven�t had any in probably 10 years, but the deli at the supermarket was out of the pre-grilled chicken breasts and that left me at a loss for sandwich fare. I happened to pass the packaged lunchmeat isle and there they were. Yes they�re insanely processed and full of delicious nitrates and sodium, but they�re also under 100 calories per pack and only have about 8 fat grams. So tonight I�ll be wolfing down a delectable (to me) sandwich of Buddig pastrami with a slice of no-fat cheddar or a wheat bun with some mustard. It probably won�t erase my craving from a week or so ago of a New York deli kosher hard salami with swiss on rye, but it will have to do.
Exercise: Um. No Boot Camp. Hung-over. But I should be up and running in time for spin and belly dance. I�ll just keep telling myself that I�m saving my running legs for Friday when we get retested for our timed mile. Riiiiiiiight.

0 comments so far

10:42 a.m. - 2007-07-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie