tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sex in the suburbs

This should be just swell. My favorite pair (and only*) of brown sandals blew out a strap the other day. Hopefully because they are fairly expensive Cole-Haans it means that they are repairable. The closest shoe repair to where I work is in Randhurst Mall. So I googled it to figure out exactly where in the mall the shoe repair shop is so I can park close and what do I find? Swell. Ms. Horsey-Face herself, Sarah Jessica Parker, is appearing at the Steve & Barry�s in Randhurst at 2pm as some sort of promotion for her Bitten clothing line. I imagine the parking situation will be just fantastic. The mall will probably be swarming with tragic suburbanites wearing oversized silk flowers pinned to their shoulders and channeling their inner Carries. I�d drop off my shoes on another day but I want to pick them up next Wednesday. I recall many years ago I broke off the little plastic sole piece on one of my heels and I didn�t have another pair of back-up shoes with me so I hustled over to the repair shop and limped in to save the bottom of my shoe and asked nicely if they could tack on a new heel while I waited. They did it but with much eye rolling and sighing at the way I was inconveniencing them by asking them to do this NOW, so I figure I better plan ahead and give them some time, especially since this is probably going to be a more complicated repair. I can�t wait to continue this after lunch so I can report back about the tarted up SJP wannabes.

* I think they�re the only pair. My closet is in a shambles right now so digging around isn�t an option, but I�m pretty sure that this pair is the one and only pair of brown sandals. Shocking considering that I probably own 100 pairs of shoes and boots. Since I�m going to be at the mall anyway and since sandals are probably on sale, I might take a gander at what�s available in the brown sandal selection. Especially good timing since Steve is out of town and I won�t have to sneak them into the house. Call me Imelda!

The mall was a total clusterfuck. There were great clumps of women wearing their sparkliest tank tops and funkiest capris, and I did indeed see one silk flower. Gah. The anchor store was having a huge Lancome event and it was packed with make-up artists daubing and dabbing their victims with various unguents. I checked out the shoe selection and actually had a pair of black sandals in my hand but it reminded me of a pair that I think are somewhere in my closet. I guess it�s really time to dig through and see what�s in there. I should go the whole Martha route and take pictures of the shoes and paste them to the outside of the boxes so I know what the hell is in there. Maybe this would stop me from buying my umpteenth pair of black boots. Doubtful. Instead, I went completely off list and bought two dresses. One is a fairly utilitarian black print with a nice v-neck but the other is a totally va-va-voom aqua blue sundress. It has a dirndl-esque top that basically says, �here (or hier if we�re going with the German theme) are my breasts � admire their hiked-up loveliness.� It�s truly a boob-tray, but day-um! do I ever look good in it! And as if I needed more ego stroking now, it�s a size 10.

Dinner last night: no sandwich. Since Steve was leaving today for a weekend-long soccer tournament he wanted to have a nice dinner with me. We took a half-bottle of wine and walked (extra exercise!) up the street to the BYOB brick-oven pizza place. We split a salad and a spinachi ultra-thin crust. Yum.
Breakfast: Yogurt, Kix.
Lunch: I wasn�t really thinking about this last night when I ordered the spinachi pizza, but today�s lunch was supposed to be a Lean Cuisine spinach/mushroom pizza. Since it will not fare well in the comparison to last night�s pizza I�ll skip it and eat the other stuff I brought � cherry tomatoes, a small regular tomato, blueberries and some cherries) and a snack pack of cottage cheese. Healthy!
Dinner: fraught with peril. I�m meeting some of Steve�s siblings for dinner at a fantastic Mexican place. Must�.stay�..strong��Must�..not��gorge�..on�..chips/salsa. On the up side, they do have a fantastic hearts of palm salad and I�m going to try to get the waiter to bring me one right away so I don�t start in on the chips. They usually have a good tilapia entr�e on the menu so I�ll order that. Peril avoided if I stick with my plan.
Exercise: I had the best intentions of taking the early morning spin class, but it just didn�t happen. Boot Camp starts up again next week so I�m not too worried.
Weight: I still haven�t weighed myself, but I do know that clothes keep fitting better and better. I actually wore a strappy sport tank to the gym last night. My trainer told me that I look fantastic and I looked in the mirror and thought, �yes. Yes I do.� And people, that is one HUGE step for me.

2:40 p.m. - 2007-08-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie