tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eating in Effingham

Ok, ok, ok�. I was supposed to write witty, fun missives from the heartland but there was just too much to do. I didn�t turn on my laptop once the whole weekend. Therefore, I�m going to try to remember what I ate (and boy, did I eat) over the weekend. I�ll go backwards from yesterday:

Tuesday:
Dinner: Buddig pastrami on a grainy, toasted bun with two slices of no-fat cheddar.
Lunch; Lean Cuisine Asian-style pot-stickers, cherries, a tomato.
Breakfast: Kix, yogurt.

Monday:
Dinner: broiled whitefish with paper-thin slices of Yukon gold potatoes and asparagus, two slices of bread with a bit of butter, two glasses of red wine.
Lunch: snack bag of Mrs. Vickers jalapeno potato chips, bacon cheeseburger from the Moonshine general store, Boylan Soda cane cola. Heavenly.
Breakfast: yogurt, small cup of frosted flakes.

Sunday:
While playing bingo: two beers.
At the movies: small bag of popcorn (no gross butter topping), small diet coke.
Dinner/snack: cold fried chicken breast w/ skin removed and a roll.
Lunch/supper at the church: fried chicken breast and wing, scoop of buttered noodles, scoop of green beans, parker house roll, slice of homemade carrot cake, sliced tomatoes. If I had to choose a last meal, this would be it, that�s how much I love this meal.
Breakfast: yogurt.

Saturday:
Dinner: bratwurst on a bun, bag of cherry tomatoes, three Dave & Darlene homemade persimmon cookies (the best ever). Three beers.
Snack: small zucchini muffin.
Lunch: Ham on rye with a slice of cheese, handful of cheetos, small scoop of pasta salad, a few fritos. Damn the chips.
Breakfast: yogurt, small cup of cheerios.

Friday:
Dinner: fried chicken breast & wing (most of the skin removed), steamed broccoli, salad, scoop of cottage cheese, four u-peel-em shrimp, three glasses of red wine.
Lunch: If there is a nirvana for greasy food lovers, this is it. I had a pot roast pony shoe. Apparently this is a southern Illinois thing � it�s a piece of Texas toast topped with pot roast then covered in French fries and then doused with gooey cheese sauce. It could have been worse � one of my fellow diners had a breaded pork tenderloin pony shoe. Then again it could have been much, much worse � they make a horse shoe version that�s double the size. As an appetizer we had breaded deep fried pickle spears.
Breakfast: yogurt, small cup of frosted flakes, small cup of fruit.

Thursday:
Dinner: 1# of crab legs (no butter � for me it ruins the crab legs), steamed broccoli, buttered roll, 1 � beers.

This is where my memory peters out, but I think this is pretty complete. It�s a little easier to remember because I�m not much of a snacker so I only have to remember meals.

Exercise: despite the fact that I brought my work-out clothes with me the facilities at the Hampton Inn were lame at best � a trio of outdated cardio machines: bike, treadmill and stepper. I was unmotivated to say the least.

0 comments so far

2:29 p.m. - 2007-08-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie