tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Too much to do

Just when you think you�re in the clear, all shit breaks loose. We didn�t have any water damage or electricity outages from the big storm at work, but over the weekend the hot water heater in the office crapped out and seeped water everywhere including the tower of files waiting to go up to the storage area. Fun. Wet bricks of flimsy paper that need to be dried out, stinky damp carpet smell, waterlogged electronics. Whee. Luckily nothing major was damaged but drying out the files is going to be a major pain in the ass. We have the front door open and 5 huge fans going to try to dry everything out. They may be working but all I can think about is the way they�re making the whole office freezing cold. I�m completely nipped out � the party hats are in effect and the high beams are on. I could cut glass with these babies. Brrr� I wish I had an emergency back-up sweater to throw on.

I�m going on vacation next week and I have a bazillion things I need to do before I go away so I was not thrilled when Steve called me to remind me that we have tickets to see John Hiatt and Shawn Colvin at Ravinia this evening. Normally I�d be thrilled, but now I�m just freaking out that I won�t have time to: cook food for the dog and package it in single serve pouches for her stay at the kennel (yes, she is totally spoiled but she also has a squiffy tummy that doesn�t much like commercial dog food), clean the kitchen and bathroom (including washing the skanky shower curtain and the grubby bath mats) and vacuum the house so the cat sitter doesn�t think Steve and I live like a pack of wolves, go to the grocery store to buy the stuff I want to bring up to the vacation rental (yes, they have grocery stores up there but I like to come prepared), and pack so I�m not stuck wearing the same thing for 9 days. Gah.

Breakfast: Crispix, snack-pak of cottage cheese.
Lunch: Lean Cuisine chicken ranch panini, sliced tomato, apple.
Snack: dee-licious champagne grapes.
Dinner: Well, it was going to be leftover chicken and crab legs and some steamed broccoli, but now it�s going to be healthy take-out from the gourmet market eaten in the car on the way to the concert. Grrrrrr�
Exercise: Boot Camp � much running, ab-work and some strength training with the stretchy band things. I�m starting to fall apart � my hips ache, my right elbow hurts whenever I do tricep exercises, and my right knee clicks when I walk. Good times.

1 comments so far

2:37 p.m. - 2007-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie