tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I want candy

I went out at lunch today and bought a metric ton of candy. Seriously � I think it cost about $75. We better get many, many trick-or-treaters this year or I�ll be doling out gummy skulls and Twizzlers to myself for the next eight months until I completely tire of it all and bring in the hardened remains to the office. I tried desperately to find bags of fun size Milky Way bars, but Target was pretty cleared out by the time I got there and I wound up with those strange mixed bags where there are three good kinds of candy like Reece�s Cups, Kit Kats, and M&M�s, and then one or two oddballs like Almond Joy � what kid likes Almond Joys? This happened to me last year too, but I did a secondary run to the regular grocery store to get a couple of bags of The Good Stuff. Now the challenge is to keep my hands out of the not-so proverbial cookie jar until Wednesday night. I had a better offer from Weetabix for Wednesday night (get your minds out of the gutter � it was an offer to meet for dinner & shopping) but I know if I leave Steve at home on Halloween I�ll come home to find the �good� candy eaten, the bad candy still in the hand-out bowl, and my four painstakingly carved pumpkins still sitting on the back steps unlit and unloved. Steve must have gotten a razor in an apple as a kid because he has no love for the trick-or-treaters and finds them to be annoying little beggers. I enjoy seeing all the costumes but I find the sullen uncostumed teens to be a little freaky � like I�m giving them a candy bribe so they don�t deface my home with oil-based spray painted slogans about what I like to do in my free time.

Friday dinner: I wound up having a slice of tomato/mozzarella/basil quiche and a few pieces of fruit garnish with a lemon soda and then at the movies I had part of a bag of Reece�s Pieces (and then I dutifully yet sadly threw the rest away). Later I had a Miller Lite (don�t judge � it was at a party and I didn�t have a choice)
Saturday:
Breakfast: soft boiled egg & toast w/ Promise spread and jam.
Lunch: Italian beef on a roll, handful of potato chips w/ some sort of dip, handful of carrots with some sort of dip, � large chocolate chip cookie. Bottle of Woodchuck hard cider � we were at a pumpkin carving party.
Dinner: small piece of meat lasagna, roasted pumpkin seeds.
Exercise: not today!
Sunday:
Brunch: pork bahn mi sandwich.
Dinner: � white meat chicken with sides of beet salad and saut�ed spinach, � banana pudding. Later I had a slice of pumpkin bread.
Exercise: ran a 5K � 31:09 was my time and that put me slightly above middling (217 out of 490) overall and 28th out of 64 in my age group. Sometimes average is just fine.
Today:
Breakfast: frosted Flakes.
Snack: roasted pumpking seeds.
Lunch: WW Smart Ones pasta primavera.
Snack: grapes
Dinner: Shrimp spring rolls (the not-fried kind), some sort of chicken/noodle stir fry dish.
Exercise: I skipped Boot Camp this morning because I got a lousy night�s sleep and felt I could use the extra hour to try and catch up. Plus my shins are splinty feeling and I wanted to give them a day of rest.

2 comments so far

3:11 p.m. - 2007-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie