tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Poopy

Steve is finally better. He spent the better part of last week and the weekend having some sort of digestive distress. His gut would make a loud protracted groaning sound and then within a minute he�d get a stricken look on his face and scurry off to the bathroom where even our loud fart-fan (yes, that�s really a term contractors use) couldn�t mask the horrible noises and even horribbler smell � Airwick was no match for Steve�s ass. Plus since we currently have only one functioning bathroom, a couple of times I was left hopping up and down outside the bathroom door doing the I Gotta Pee dance while Steve spent his eleventy-billionth minute on the can. At first we thought he�d eaten something questionable but when it lasted five days with no abatement I shipped him off to the doctor who put him on a course of Cipro. It could be the Cipro that cured him but I think it was the threat that if the problems continued he�d be forced to bring in a stool sample to the lab that really cured him. Now, I have my own share of digestive problems, but they are as a result of the no-gallbladder thing and just something I have learned to deal with. But before I figured this out I had to take, keep and drop off a workweek�s worth of poop samples at the lab and let me tell you � this is no fun. It involves putting stretch film over the toilet bowl (difficult to dispose of if the pooping incident occurs at, say, work), a collection device that looks like a tiny spork, and cute little bio-hazard jars. Then there is the shame of handing the brown paper bag holding the five poop vials in at the lab to another person. A person whose job it is to take samples of icky bodily fluids � with a smile. That person? Does not make enough money. All that to tell me that, nope, no bad bacteria, your poop is fantastic poop. So, Steve was a little familiar with the process � enough that he might have willed away his problem so he didn�t have to spork his own excrement into a test tube. Whatever � it�s gone now � hooray! However, I did tell him that although it�s normally my job, this time he�d be cleaning the bathroom.

Yesterday
Breakfast: yogurt/fruit smoothie, Crispix
Lunch: Eating Right cheese ravioli (yuck � it tasted like the raviolis were filled with reconstituted chalky cheese and the marinara sauce was not particularly an enhancement. I think I�ll stick to the WW Smart Ones pasta entrees but unfortunately I think I have a couple of the Eating Right ones in the freezer), sliced tomato, concord grapes.
Dinner: pasta with pesto sauce, a slice of bread, salad with spray-on Asian dressing, a glass of red wine and likely a few pieces of candy (two Reece�s PB cups).
Exercise: Boot Camp � lots of weights while standing on a Bosu. My shoulders hurt now and I bet tomorrow it�ll be even worse.
Today:
Breakfast: frosted flakes (I�m making an effort to not completely stuff the bag), mini-Twix (shut up � it was staring at me from the office table where I dumped out the yukky stuff from our Halloween candy and we didn�t have Twix at my house so I felt it was ok to take one)
Lunch: WW Smart Ones Swedish meatballs (yum), sliced tomato, concord grapes, one Reece�s PB cup.
Dinner: I�m going out with Steve, my dad and a friend of the family whose husband is off gallivanting around with his mistress (seriously, but she can�t really complain because at one time SHE was the mistress. Karma � it goes around). We�re going to a fish restaurant so I should do just fine as long as I avoid the yummy clam chowder and the key lime pie. I can do this.
Exercise: Day off, but I did sign up for another 5k that takes place on Nov. 18th - the Lincolnwood Turkey Trot. A new twist? Unless one of you wants to sign up with me I�m doing it on my own. And yes this is an invitation � I�m much more likely to blow off the race if I don�t have a race-buddy. I run about a ten minute mile but I�m willing to try to kick it up a notch if you�re a faster runner (that said there�s little chance I�d be able to break a 9:30 mile). However, don�t expect sparkling conversation � I wear an iPod so I can be motivated by bad pop music and drown out the sounds of over a thousand pairs of feet hitting the pavement which would only serve to remind me of the monotony that is running.

0 comments so far

3:35 p.m. - 2007-11-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie