tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shoes, shoes and more shoes

Yesterday I get a real treat � both Weetabix and Mike were in the local vicinity for work related activities and that meant a meet up for shopping and dinner, also attended by Tam! and Mike�s co-worker Lynzi. Shopping in the shoe department of Nordstrom�s was perhaps not such a great idea because I �needed� another pair of shoes like I need a hole in my head but I am going to a wedding on Friday and I have a new dress to wear and I wanted to match it with a pair of retro pumps that wouldn�t kill my budget or my feet. Luckily Nordstrom started their half-yearly sale for women yesterday. Conversely, that is only a bonus if you decide to buy shoes that are, you know, on sale. Actually, one of the pairs I bought was on sale. That�s right pairs. Hello, my name is Poppy and I have a shoe addiction problem. I did find a fabulous pair of red patent shoes to go with the dress, but then I also found a pair of black round-toe flats on sale (now I can toss my ratty ballet flats in the garbage � for real) and a pair of supah-sexahy black heels that don�t necessarily go with anything I own but were so damn sexy that I just had to buy them Um, why yes, this has happened before when I was with Weet and the rhinestone mules? Have not yet left my home. But I have worn them IN my home. Never you mind why I was wearing them � PERVERT!). Click the link at your own risk � I am not responsible for the hotness melting your eyeballs. I don�t care of all I do is put them on to clean out the cat litter box � I will find somewhere to wear them. I also indulged in a pair of over-engineered Asics running shoes that probably won�t make me go any faster or farther but DAMNATION! I will look hot while I wear them! Particularly if I take Weet�s suggestion and pair them with black track pants and a silvery blue technical top. Plus then I can throw out one of the grungy pairs that I have in the current rotation.

So this wedding. I�m taking tomorrow off because it begins at 4:30 way, way out in the sticks and it will take approximately an hour and half to get there meaning that I would have to leave work at noon further meaning that I would have only been at work for a few hours so why not just use up some of the vacation time I have coming. I suspect that there will be a full mass involved. Whatever �just don�t expect me to know when to kneel and mumble the canned responses � I usually just sit there and think snarky thoughts about what other people are wearing. I myself am wearing a fabulous dress that I bought at a teeny boutique in Madison, WI, and now awesome red patent leather retro pumps. I was trying to figure out what to wear on my legs because it has turned mofo cold here and plus I don�t want to display my pasty unattractive legs to the general public. Weet suggested a fine gauge nude fishnet (yeah, yeah, yeah � I KNOW it�s not going to provide much warmth but at least most of the pastyness will be hidden) and for once in my life I actually have the item in question. Normally when I have to find a specific item I�m forced to go on a quest of mythic proportions wherein every hosiery department (or whatever department) I visit is staffed by someone who looks at me quizzically and then says, �yeah, we had TONS of those last year/season and they sold really well but they just didn�t reorder them and so we�re out.� This time I am prepared.

Aside: Oh my god � if I never have to hear someone nattering away in Tagalog again it will be TOO SOON! My cube-mate has been on the phone constantly over the past two days with her brother, mother and friends. Gah. I know I�ve said it before but Tagalog has got to be one of the most unattractive languages around. If you�re my one Philippine reader, I�m sorry, but it�s awful and it makes me want to stuff pencils in my ears � pointy end first � to relieve the jabbering.

Yesterday:
Breakfast: yogurt/fruit smoothie, Crispix
Lunch: cup of butternut squash soup, slice of bread with butter, lake perch filet almondine with mixed vegetable medly, fun-size Reece�s Pieces.
Snack: small banana
Dinner: about three slices of onion bread with butter, salad with vinaigrette, pretzel crusted fish sandwich (I probably ate a little over �) a teeny cup of cole slaw, a fistful of French fries and then � of a slice of amazing pumpkin pie. Red wine flight that probably equaled two medium glasses. I definitely ate too much and too much rich food and I felt most stuffed.
Exercise: Boot Camp � lots of cardio work on the Bosu ball (hopping over it and squatting � ouch) and also strength training. I thought today would kill me, but I�m still here so it couldn�t have been too bad.
Today:
Breakfast: Crispix, snak-pak of cottage cheese.
Lunch: WW Smart Ones Swedish Meatballs, fun-size bag of Reece�s Pieces.
Snack: small organic banana
Dinner: Bowl of bison chili over some pasta with grated full fat cheddar and a handful of oyster crackers. A beer and a Reece�s pb cup.
Exercise: It�s personal trainer night!

2 comments so far

3:27 p.m. - 2007-11-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie