tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All done!

Yay! The Nutcracker is over! I get my life back! We made it through our main dance and the intros, exits, and closing number with no major discernable errors. I think. I�ll get back to you with the definitive opinion after I�ve shelled out $20 for the commemorative DVD and (over) analyzed our every second on stage. Of course nothing we could have done would have had quite the drama of the first act. Apparently the little girl playing the Nutcracker Prince had to wear a big paper-mache nutcracker-head at some point and it must have obscured her vision because she danced right off the end of the stage and did a header into the front row. Luckily she�s a bouncy 9 or 10 year old and she got right back up and kept dancing � I think someone gave her a boost back up onto the stage. Steve said the gasp from the audience was deafening. All-in-all. the whole thing was sort of a let-down � I mean we devoted hours and hours (and hours and hours) of our life to a measly 3-minute dance and a few swooshes across the stage � and it isn�t even a dance we can add to our regular repertoire because it�s pretty holiday-ish. Oh well � I�ll know better next year. As a matter of fact I don�t think any of the Bloom girls are particularly eager to team up with the Performing Arts ladies again � they just come from a different mindset and need to know their �motivation� to get into �character� and we�d prefer less talk and more dancing. Gah � theater people make me itchy.

Even without Boot Camp I hauled my keister out of bed to go to the gym at 5:15 this morning. I took the group weightlifting class and it was a decent workout. Even though there isn�t a class I want to take tomorrow morning I think I might head over to the gym anyway and see if any of the other Boot Campers are there - I imagine all the regulars are going to feel pretty out of sorts with a three-week break. If any of them are there we could put together our own circuit workout. I�m pretty sure one of them, Joan, will be there and if she is I can run along with (behind) her � she sets a good pace for me to follow. Must. Keep. Running. I have this horrible vision that if I stop my hips and booty will badonak-a-donk overnight and I won't fit into my pants anymore. Silly I know, but I do have an active imagination and I'm great with worst case scenarios.

I�d like to think that is the Sartorialist saw me on the street today he�d take my photo and post it immediately � that�s how cute I think I look today (If I do say so myself, which I obviously just did). I�m wearing a heather grey wool skirt (just below the knee), a black turtleneck sweater, black tights and these Simple Boots that match my skirt. To pick up the orange in the boots I grabbed an orange (faux) pashmina to wrap around my neck and keep me warm. Perfect without being too matchy-matchy. The Sartorialist seems to like little details like that.

Food Log:
Dinner last night: Indian food! One samosa, and some of each of the following vegetable biryani, channa masala, chicken tikka, and some lamb thing. I had a half scoop of pumpkin ice cream for dessert and a big beer with dinner � I so needed that beer.
Breakfast: Kashi granola bar, lo-fat fruit/yogurt smoothie.
Lunch: salad trio from Corner bakery: tuna, pasta, greens.
Exercise: Group Power class.

0 comments so far

4:47 p.m. - 2007-12-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie