tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which not much happens

I�m back again. The Dayquill/Nyquill rollercoaster makes it hard to concentrate at work and doesn�t leave me much free time for blogging my innermost thoughts. Sorry these thoughts are random, but when I have a cold my only objective is to get through work, get home, eat dinner, and go to bed. Not much time for anything that might produce a witty anecdote so what you get is a bunch of bits �n� bobs.

Let�s talk resolutions � did you make any? I haven�t for the past few years but I thought that this might be a good time to see if I could break myself of my dirty little habit. I bite my nails. So far I�m doing pretty well � I can see a nice white ring at the top of each nail and my cuticles aren�t nearly as ragged as they were. I have to try to find an inexpensive nail salon in my neighborhood where I can get semi-regular manicures that won�t break the bank because I�ve been biting my nails for so long that I don�t really know what to do with them once they grow out. I know you file them down but I don�t know how to shape them or what shape they should be or any of that stuff. I had gel nails for awhile but that was time and expense that I didn�t want to waste.

I bought a new box of Kleenex for work last night and I think I may go through the whole thing today because my nose is just running, running, running. I guess it�s better than being all clogged up and feeling like my head is stuffed up with cotton but I better get some of the tissue with aloe in it or my nose is going to look like raw meat.

I�m still desperately trying to find some 5K�s or other running events in my area but to no avail � I guess you�d have to be crazy to plan a charity 5K when there is always a chance of snow, sleet, and/or ice. There is a local running store that hosts a ladies �fun run� every Wednesday but I�m afraid that in the inclement weather the only women who will show up are the real runners � you know the people who will leave me eating the gritty sidewalk salt they kick up as they blow past me. Eh, it�s worth a shot � next week I might give it a go. Maybe I�ll drop by over the weekend and inquire about the distance and pace and to see if they pooh-pooh the usage if iPods because as y�all know for me, it�s all about the iPod and the crappy pop tunes.

I almost had a very embarrassing moment at work. I�ve been trying to wear more skirts because I have a sizeable collection of nice boots that look good with skirts and it seems a shame to blow by boot weather without having given each pair its due. So today I�m wearing a cute knee-length black flippy skirt, black leather boots that I got in Vegas (on sale), black tights, and a black v-neck pointelle sweater with some white detailing around the hem. It looked especially sexy with my SKIRT TUCKED INTO MY TIGHTS. What a horrorshow that would have been � I can only imagine what would have happened if I had moseyed out of the office and through the production shop. Thankfully I have a nice cubemate (yes, the one I�ve repeatedly complained about because she natters on and on in Tagalog) who mentioned that I might want to check my skirt. This � this is what women go through to look nice. I once told a woman in the bathroom at the Lyric Opera she had tucked her skirt into her pantyhose � crowds of other people were milling around her and had probably noticed but did anyone else say anything? No. What is wrong with you people � any woman wants this information. My sister-in-law walked about a mile from the Chicago Metra Station to her office with her skirt tucked in � AND NOBODY TOLD HER. That is a crying shame. And a really, really funny story.


Dinner last night: I was making beef stew for dinner but I kind of forgot how long all the peeling and chopping and browning and saut�ing take so I guess we�ll eat the stew tonight. So to fill in we had an emergency back-up dinner and made pasta with pesto sauce and a salad. I had three small slices of baguette and 2 2-bite caramel toffee scones from Whole Foods.
Breakfast: yogurt cup with granola and strawberries, hot chai tea (does anyone else lose the taste for coffee when you have a cold?)
Lunch: Weight Watchers deep dish margharita pizza, small banana.
Snack: 3 tangerines
Exercise: Boot Camp (heh � I just typed Booty Camp): running, lower body strength.

0 comments so far

4:44 p.m. - 2008-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie