tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm on the run!

Sorry about the absence � I got swamped at work with a variety of big spreadsheet-y projects, and then I went to visit my brother in El Paso, and then when I got back I was swamped again by yet more spreadsheet-y things.

So, I�ve gone and done something fairly stupid. I got goaded into signing up an indoor triathlon challenge at my gym. They give you three weeks to chip away at an Ironman � run 26.2 miles, cycle 112 miles (spin classes count as 18.6 miles and you need to do six to fulfill the necessary distance), and swim 2.4 miles (that�s 88 laps in their pool). So, in light of the challenge instead of logging what I eat I�m going to be logging my miles and laps for the next few weeks. The challenge started on Monday the 18th and goes through March 9th. It�s going to be hard to fit in the extra visits to the gym and the spin studio to make the distances. I start an intensive Boot Camp next Monday that runs for the last two weeks of the challenge and while I will probably get in some running - at least a half mile per day and a little more if we do running work � I�ll still have to come back to the gym and the spin studio in the evening and weekends to get all the miles in and it�s starting to freak me out. Especially since after only two days and 4.25 miles my shin splints are absolutely killing me (the indoor track probably isn�t helping) and I�m realizing that I�m quite possibly the slowest swimmer in the universe (I must confess that�s partly because I have to do the breast stroke in order to keep my expensive hair dye job out of the chlorinated water as much as I can). I�m taking a spin class this evening so I�m hoping that a day of rest will help my shins recover a bit and it can�t hurt that I received my shipment of IB-Relief yesterday so I�m set to slather my lower legs with ibuprofen cream to reduce the swelling and aches.

Because I�m a glutton for punishment I�m also signed up for 6 5K�s between now and July with plans for a couple more when their registration opens up. I think I might try an 8K too, but I�ll see how the first few 5K�s go before I cough up the registration fee for that one.


Indoor Triathlon Challenge Current Stats as of 02-19-2008
Running:
Goal: 26.2 Miles ran: 4.25 Still need: 21.95
Cycling:
Goal: 112 Miles cycled: 0 Still need: 112
Swimming:
Goal: 88 laps Laps completed: 22 Still need: 66

0 comments so far

4:36 p.m. - 2008-02-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie