tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fashion

Soooooo�.. last Friday I went out with a bunch of fellow Boot Campers to celebrate the end of the two-week intensive session. I found out that one fellow Boot camper who also lives on my block works at a shop in Snobby Town where I grew up and she was all psyched to get me to come up this Saturday when she�ll be working. I know this shop � not by having actually shopped there, but by reading about it in magazines and newspapers. At first I demured saying that there was no freaking way they sold anything that would fit me (I wear a size 10 in real people clothes, at least a 12 in the kind of fantasy-land clothes they sell there) but she assured me that they did indeed carry things in my size. M�kay. So, I perused their website today to see what I may have potentially gotten myself into and there is no fucking way I can shop at this place. They carry jeans that cost $400.00 � and not just one pair mind you � MANY pairs. I would say most pairs, but in actuality most of their jeans are in the low, low (snort) $300.00 range. They have scarves � simple small-ish wool scarves that cost over $300. The Target Go! Designers? This store carries their real, full-priced collections. They are taking pre-orders on a $3,650.00 Erin Featherston dress � in case you�re interested. Lastly, the clothes? Most of them are fugly. I managed to find one dress that I thought was attractive and might flatter me. Cost? $495.00. Um, no. I�m not going to spend that kind of money on a dress that I�ll wear maybe 2 or 3 times a year (plus it only went up to a size 10 and despite not having to worry about my hips fitting in the dress I would have to worry about the boob factor � and something tells me that the designer wasn�t taking 36 D�s into account when he thought up this jazzy little number). So, I guess this means that I have my Saturday to myself again since there is not a chance in hell that I�m going to go out and spend the equivalent of a mortgage payment on a top, a pair of jeans and a belt. And that�s only if I can find stuff that fits me. More accurately I see me having a complete breakdown in the dressing room because everything was designed for a person who is 5�8� and weights 105 lbs. and trying to stuff myself into clothes designed for that mold just isn�t going to happen. And then I see me coming home and Steve having a breakdown because I bought a few articles of trendy clothing for the same amount that our hardwood floors are costing. And then I see a divorce I my future because Steve really, truly, doesn�t give a shit about what I wear. Sure, he might say that I look nice when I take a little extra effort on a workday or dress up to go out to dinner, but he�s just as likely to say it if I�m wearing a $22.90 skirt from Target as he is if I�m wearing a, a, �. I�m struggling here to think up an expensive article of clothing that I own�� uh� the Diane von Furstenburg top I got (on sale � 75% off) in Vegas.

My massage on Monday night was truly awesome. And cheap. They charge $85 for 90 minutes and I used my birthday coupon for $10 off. For comparison, a 75 minute massage at the Bliss Spa costs $165.00 � granted it is in a much swankier spot and they use luxe products, but when what you really want/need is a massage to work out the kinks in your muscles then the one I got was just fine (and only 5 minutes from my house). Now � I asked about gratuities, and she said they are no longer allowed to accept them � but she kind of said it in a way that makes me think some people still give them. I didn�t give one this time because I didn�t come prepared, but I feel really shitty not doing so. I mean, when I did splurge for the massage at Bliss I think I would up tipping like $30 so I should certainly cough up at least $10 for the outstanding job that the therapist did last night. I guess I�ll think on this one. I suppose I could give her something like a Starbucks gift card, but what if she hates Starbucks? Next time � and there will be a next time � I�ll bring in some cash and try to press it on her. If she still refuses then I guess it really is policy and I won�t try again.

Dinner last night at Buca di Beppo was really, really, �eh.� Not terrible, certainly not great � just �eh.� It was however totally overloaded on both salt and garlic. I�m sure I�m going to reek when I take my spin and Belly Dance classes tonight.

1 comments so far

2:30 p.m. - 2008-03-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie