tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MmmmMmmmmGood!

Oh crap! When you get the linky love from Elastic Waist that�s when you know it�s time to get cracking and post an entry. And true to the link, I did run a 5k this weekend and I did collect my free shirt � and although it�s some strange brand it is a very nice long sleeved summer-weight long-sleeve shirt (I hate Hanes Beefy-T�s � if I order a M it will grab me around both my boobs and hips which is not a pretty sight and if I order a L it hangs on me as if it was made out of cardboard). The run was to support cheetah conservation and the front says, �The fastest animal on earth is running out of time,� and the back has the race sponsors and the logo of the Save the Cheetah foundation along with a spiffy photo of a cheetah. I was not quite cheetah-like in my speed, but I did manage to keep up a 10 minute mile pace. Next weekend the free shirt is so good I even got my husband to sign up too � it�s the Race to Wrigley and proceeds go to Chicago Cubs Charities so the technical-T has a logo with a spiffy take on the famous Wrigley Field scoreboard and the walking cub version of the team logo. Sure � he won�t sign up for other races I participate in, but once a Cubs t-shirt is dangled in front of him he can�t put his name down fast enough.

I discovered a new-to-me blog (I�m sure it�s not new to many of you, but I�m slow to these things) � and man! The recipes are awesome! I made the lasagna on Friday and the pot roast last night. Steve was curious to see if I was expecting a 6-year marriage review or something because these are the two things he�s been begging me to make since, well, since I started cooking for us. Even better is since the Pioneer Woman is cooking for a big family and I�m not, I have tons of leftovers to get us through the week without me having to make more than some salads and side dishes. Hooray for simple recipes with step-by-step pictures! I�d put off making these two particular dishes because they seemed sort of intimidating (lasagna always seemed like it had so many steps and the one time I tried pot roast it was only so-so), but since these particular recipes use very common ingredients and have pictures it was easy to follow each step and assemble the dinners. And let me tell you � when your grandmother told you that the way to a man�s heart is through is stomach she was not kidding. I think I could have asked for just about anything I wanted to last night. Now that I think about it, I think I wasted a great opportunity.

3:03 p.m. - 2008-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie