tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mr. Lunchbox

Gosh darn that Weetabix! She�s always suggesting fun ways to spend some cash, and I finally bit on the Mr. Bento bug. Amazon had them on sale and I had a $20 gift certificate for dutifully filling out seven days worth of an XM Radio listener diary so Mr. Bento only wound up costing about $25 with shipping. I think I�ve run my course with the 5-day-a-week frozen meal grind and I�m ready to take charge of my own lunch (and breakfast). I found a great recipe for granola that with minimal tweaking should come out pretty much like the uber-expensive stuff I�ve been buying and scarfing down like a madwoman, I made a big pot of multigrain rice last night, and I�m going to sautee some chicken breasts and steam some broccoli tonight so I should be good for the rest of the week. I might even try Anne�s chickpea salad recipe from Elastic Waist. I realize that Mr. Bento (I need a new name � help from someone who�s into Japanese stuff? Mr. Miyagi?) won�t be here until at least the end of the week, but I can Tupperware it until he arrives to get into the swing of things. Washing Mr. Bento is probably going to be a drag until we move upstairs and have a dishwasher, but I�ll live.

Speaking of upstairs, here�s the progress � now I have tile! TILE! And we put down a deposit on a custom vanity this weekend and picked out toilets. To get a well constructed premade vanity in a contemporary style you have to lay out about $1500 (I shit you not) so we circumvented the issue and bought kitchen cabinets/drawer units and spent 1/3 of that. Of course we�ll still need a sink and top of some sort, but it�ll still be less expensive. There�s still a not-so wee bit of grouting left to do (my fault for picking 1�X1� tiles) but I think then comes a coat of finish paint. Wheeeee!

I went out this weekend and got re-fitted for a pair of running shoes. I had two pairs I was using � a really old pair of New Balance that were past their prime and a pair of Asics that are super-pretty but don�t quite offer the stability control that I need (I�m apparently an over-pronator). I went to the running store that has the fancy Fitlosophy program where they videotape you running on a treadmill (thankfully only from mid-thigh down) in a pair of neutral �test-shoes� and then analyze your gait and make shoe suggestions based on any issues you have. I wound up with a pair of Sauconys that are kind of fugly but have a high comfort level. At my doctor�s suggestion (new doctor and is he ever pretty!) I also bought a pair of Spenco inserts and they are just dreamy. They better be because I have two 5ks to run this weekend. One is a Boot Camp auxiliary event and the other is a neighborhood run. Sometimes I question my sanity. But, on the up side � two free shirts!!!!!

4:40 p.m. - 2008-04-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie