tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fundies

Facebook question for those in the know. I have a friend request from someone who I am not familiar with. We have no friends in common. If this is one of you all please let me know. If it�s not � what do you do in this case? Should I send back a message politely asking how I know this person?

Since I was absentee for some time from this here diaryland thing I have a few anecdotes tucked away.

The animal shelter had their annual bake sale (yours truly is the chairperson and we made $1,356.95 � not too shabby!) and that always necessitates a Target run to get things like price stickers and fresh pointy Sharpies. (FYI � pointy is one of my favorite words). I needed some things for myself too so I took care of that first � picking out a new pair of Nick & Nora summer pj�s, and rooting through the lingerie section for some of my favorite Gilligan & O�Malley underwear. Let me put it right out there that I am not a sexy underwear person. My bras and panties almost never, ever match. I wear two types of boring but comfortable and supportive bras and I buy them in bulk (two shades of beige, black, and white only) whenever I�m in a Bali outlet. As for the nether regions, they get covered in the most basic cotton G & O�M underwear in the regular bikini style and the least racy thong that you could imagine (I may be all about the comfort, but nobody likes a visible panty line). I know I�m not the only one who likes these panties. In her amusing memoir, Target Underwear and a Vera Wang Dress: Notes from a Single Girl�s Closet, Adena Halpern extols the many virtues of this very brand of undies � even when she could afford the super expensive LaPerla stuff she preferred the basics. Anyway, what I�m trying to get at is that they�re not exactly hott � they sacrifice hott-ness for comfort. I usually try to buy them (they come in 3-packs) in white, black, heather grey or beige (making them even more boring) because the pattern choices can tend towards the ugly grandma calico side of little flowers. Anyway, I must not be the only one who likes these utilitarian panties because the only ones I could find in my size were yellow with the wee flowers, tiny stripes of yellow, orange, and some other colors, and solid yellow � it was as if locusts had descended on the boring underwear racks. I was desperate, so I took the one three-pack I could find despite their inherent ugliness and put them in the child seat area of my cart so they wouldn�t co-mingle with the animal shelter stuff. I was on my way to housewares to buy a beverage tub to display the bottled water at the bake sale when I got distracted by the shoes (big surprise) and I left my cart in the aisle. I happened to glance down the aisle at one point to check on my cart and was horrified to see a teenage boy with his decidedly hott girlfriend poking my three-pack of underwear and telling her that she should �totally� get some like that. I�d like to think he was serious � perhaps concerned for the comfort and breatheability of the fabric covering her ladybits, but I know he was being sarcastic. Anyway, I was forced to continue browsing shoes for another 10 minutes while I waited for them to clear the area and I could reclaim my cart without shame. Gah � way to make me feel like an old lady.

0 comments so far

Dinner last night: Baked Ginger/Cilantro Tilapia, rice, broccoli, limon Izzy-esque
Breakfast: Luna Sunrise bar, tube of yogurt (gogurt?)
Lunch: Leftover tilapia & rice, cabbage salad, baggie of cherries.
Snack: Banana.
Exercise: As usual, Tuesday is animal shelter night.

11:50 a.m. - 2008-07-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie