tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shoes of stealth

Update � I snuck all three pairs of shoes into the house last night while Steve was in the shower. Now I have to work them slowly into the shoe rotation whilst perfecting my, �New? These? Ohmygosh no � I�ve had these since, like, high school. I was just waiting for them to come back into fashion � that�s why you haven�t seen them before,� comeback to the inevitable, �Poppy! Did you buy new shoes, AGAIN?!?!?!?,� question.

Since I�m trying to include some healthy-ish recipes, here�s my version of baked fried chicken that I made on Monday to much critical acclaim:

1 whole chicken, cut into parts (I bought mine pre-cut because using poultry shears to dissect a chicken into �parts� completely grosses me out, but if you�re willing and able, more power to you).
Milk (I used 2% because that�s what we have at my house)
1 stick of butter (I used an equivalent amount of Promise spread instead � tasted just fine)
1 cup flour
1 TBS seasoned salt (I suppose they mean something like Lawry�s but I didn�t have that so I used garlic salt and it tasted just dandy)
2 tsp paprika
3/4 tsp fresh ground pepper

Soak chicken in milk to cover for 20-30 minutes (I put mine all in a large ziplock bag and turned it a couple of times during the 30 minutes to make sure all the pieces were soaked� it makes clean-up much easier � no bowl to clean, just a bag to chuck). Spray a baking dish with Pam. Use a dish that will accommodate all the chicken pieces comfortably in one layer.

Preheat oven to 400 deg. Put the Promise in the baking dish and heat it in the oven until the Promise melts. Mix flour and seasonings together in a large plastic baggie (at least 1 gal. size) Shake each piece of chicken in seasoned flour until covered. Place chicken pieces, skin side down, in baking dish. Bake for 23 minutes. Flip chicken over and bake an additional 23 minutes or until cooked through and crispy. Serve and enjoy.

I did peel off the skin when I ate my chicken to save on fat/calories. The chicken was moist and flavorful, and Steve said it was fantastic when he had cold leftovers for lunch yesterday.

Breakfast: yogurt, Kix
Lunch: Lean Cuisine pepperoni pizza (**)� I knew this would be lame � I mean, c�mon! I�m from Chicago, the pizza capitol of America! - but I had to run to Target at lunch to pick up a mini-cooler and freezer packs so I needed something that I could eat with one hand while I typed with the other. Cherries.
Snack: I was going to eat an apple, but I just wasn�t hungry. They must make those Lean Cuisines out of expanding sawdust or something.
Dinner: leftover baked fried chicken, brown rice, green beans. Mixed berries.
Exercise: Boot Camp: run � mile, squats, lunges, zillions of jumping jacks, push-ups, shoulder work, biceps, running stairs, ab work. Ugh. Also, spin class after work. Gosh, I can�t wait until July 18th when I also add a 1 hour continuing Belly Dance class to this mix. I�m going to look ok (not great � I�m just hoping for ok) in a bathing suit on August 10th if it kills me. Mind you this is not a bikini or anything out of my league like that � just a simple Land�s End two-piece tankini suit with a halter-style top and a skirted bottom. But I�d like to not be bursting out of it or risk splitting the skirt and giving my in-laws the visual as to whether or not I go Brazilian for the summer.

1 comments so far

4:15 p.m. - 2007-06-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie