tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This way to Modernism!

Steve and I went to the first annual Chicago Modernism Show/Sale yesterday and it was pretty OK. There were dealers from some different areas and it was nice to see what they all had to show. I fell in love with a shiny lacquered cabinet with fancy chromed hardware and considered it at $1700, but then Steve had to go and burst my bubble and tell me that I had the decimal point in the wrong place � it was $17,000. Oops, I don�t have THAT kind of money lying around. We did buy a pair of cool 30�s sconces with simple lines that can be used just about anywhere for $190. On the way to the show the promoters had kindly put up signs that had arrows pointing the way to the show that said �Modernism� and the idea that someone who had no idea what was going on would see them and think, �Hey! This way to be modernized!� So exciting. Yesterday I also saw a bench ad that cracked me up for a company called Manic Maids. I�m not sure I want my maid to be manic � isn�t that usually a bad thing? I suppose the owners of the company envisioned images of maids doing cleaning duties in sort of an efficient whirling dervish kind of way but all I can think of is strung out grunge chicks with too much nervous energy and not enough concentration to remember to clean both my tub AND my toilet.

Steve overheard a hilarious pay-phone conversation the other day as he cut through a White Hen parking lot that went like this:

Late Teenage Slacker Dude with Low Slung pants and Off-Kilter Ballcap: �If it�s my baby, I�ll take care of it.�

Then there was a pause and he said, �By the time she has that baby I�ll have a job.�

Mmm�k. Don�t know about you, but I don�t have a lot of confidence in the lasting properties of THAT relationship.

Today was archery meet day and I can now officially declare to the world that I SUCK. Yeah, I hit paper probably 58 times out of 60, but the two complete misses tend to be really spectacular. Like not just a teeny bit out of the scoring area � we�re talking hitting the piece of wood below the target butts with a resounding WHUMP that causes all the other archers to turn and stare and me to issue a meek, �sorry.� And really, I should be doing much better. It�s not the equipment � I have pretty high-end stuff. It�s completely user error. I still enjoy it, it�s just frustrating. I guess as long as I keep an upbeat attitude it should be OK. I guess there�s a guy named Ingars who shoots with the club and maybe he can give me some pointers � I mean I don�t want to stay at the same lever of suckiness forever.

Just a quickie here (hey! There were two updates on Friday!) because I have to shower before dinner at the out-laws so I don�t look like the prototype for the slovenly wife. I�ll be sure to let you know what 1950�s concoction was on the menu so you too can share in the fun.

2:19 p.m. - 2004-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie