tobermory's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back yet again.

Hey, Hey! I�m back. I�ve had enough brushes with journalworld fame that I figure that it�s high time I dusted off my crappy typing skillz and started this thing up again. The guilt it is coming for all sides. Really, I�m starting up again because I love you. Mmmmhmmmmm.

I won�t even bore you with a list of all the stuff that�s happened since I last posted in, oh, I don�t know, OCTOBER? A foolish inconsistency is the hobgoblin of little minds. I can�t remember who said that, but I remember the quote because it plays a big part in one of my favorite movies of all time, Next Stop Wonderland. It�s a fine romantic comedy and the lead actor reminds me not a little bit like my very own Steve. Sigh.

I�m signed up for a Fitness Boot Camp class � six weeks of M-W-F classes from 5:30-6:30 � that�s A.M. baby. For those of you who know me, you are now thinking, �I didn�t know Paula was a morning person.� I�m not. But, I am hoping that going to this class will make me realize that I can indeed get my kiester out of bed one morning a week to take an extra spin class at my gym. And make my thighs racehorse thin and my abs rock solid. Hah. Not going to happen (in six weeks anyway) but a girl can dream. I figure it can�t hurt, right? Well, forget that thought too. Yesterday around 2pm I got a screaming headache and I normally don�t get headaches � I can only attribute it to the 5am wake-up call. Luckily the trusty combination of an Aleve and a caramel apply lollypop seemed to take care of the problem enough to allow me to hit the gym on the way home too. Shut up � I am not getting fitness obsessed. I�ve lost 20 pounds and I want to keep it off � if a bunch of new clothes that won�t fit me if I gain weight isn�t incentive enough to keep me going to the gym then I don�t know what is.

So the class � I�ve only been to the first one, but I have some insight from someone who took the 5-day-a-week, two-week session that was held previously. On Monday we ran a mile (not too bad thanks to my old running program and the miracles of muscle memory), did some calisthenics (not too bad until we got to the �burpees� � ick), did some walking lunge thrust things that are kicking my ass today, and did one of those running drills where you run in single-file and the last person sprints past to the front and so on until the line is basically a whirling dervish, and then we did some stairs. That�s a lot for an hour. I guess we will also use stationary cycles, run with heavy things tied to us, jump rope, and much, much more. There�s a woman in the class who has a column for Gaper�s Block (a Chicago news/information site) and a fairly famous journalist/blogger who has a forthcoming book (this counts as some of my brushes with internet fame).

More internet fame, I�m heading up to Green Bay early next month for Weetabix�s Weetacon. Alli is coming with me so we�re turning it into a bit of a girl�s weekend � we�ve already got some spa appointments booked and we�re looking forward to �shaking our fine asses at the Bad Bar� seeing as our respective husbands don�t appreciate the fine art of dancing like lunatics to the fabulous hits of the 80�s while mildly inebriated. Or not so mildly depending on the proximity of the Bad Bar to our hotel. All I have to say is Hot Stone Massage and Fried Cheese Curds. Certainly not at the same time, but in the same weekend? Yes!

That�s all for now, maybe if I keep the updates brief I can actually commit to posting something more than once a quarter. Don�t hold your breath though.

1:17 p.m. - 2005-02-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

DebSiobhan
AHarris06
Prolifique
MoreSarah
BettyBigHead
Simka
Mare-ingenii
Biensoul
trancejen
chauffi
marn
smartypants
weetabix
SuzannaDanna
WindsorBlu
UncleBob
AzzWeePay
BeautyJunkie